Long Term Care C.E. Requirements by California State Law|
In 1998, California passed three LTC bills; SB 1052, SB 527 and AB 1483. SB 1052 required that all agents selling LTC Insurance be recertified by July 1, 1998 and any agent wanting to sell LTC Insurance would need to first take the 8-hour required LTC Class, or LTC Home-study course or LTC Online course before being able to market and/or solicit LTC Insurance.
Since 1998, Three additional bills regarding LTC Insurance have been passed into law. These are: SB 1527, SB 870 and SB 475. The implications to product, consumers, carriers and you the agent range from minor to major. The Department of Insurance has requested that all LTC Continuing Education providers re-file their courses to comply with the new laws. In turn, agents who have have renewed since July 1, 1998 or are about to renew must check to see if they are currently in complience or need to be.
HOW TO CHECK YOUR CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS ON YOUR LICENSE:
The California Depatment of Insurance can be reached at 916-322-3555 or 1-800-967-9331 7am to 4pm. The Department of Insurance website is: www.insurance.ca.gov. Once you reach the Department of Insurance website, select "check license status" at the top of the website page, then click on "license number" and enter your insurance license number and click "submit". Once your name and information is reflected, scroll to the bottom of the page and click "continuing education" this will direct you to a page where you can view all of the continuing education courses you have completed. It is the Agent's responsibility to know when they need to take CE courses, and if they are repeating a course number and how to read their Continuing Education Credits on their license.
Annuity Continuing Education Requirements
What is the Annuity CE requirement?
Every life licensed agent who sells any and all kinds of annuities must complete the approved, initial 8-hour Annuity 2004 CE course. After January 1, 2005, every life licensed agent who sells any and all kinds of annuities must complete the approved 4-hour Annuity CE course every 2-years prior to license renewal.